Border dispute settled between Assam and Meghalaya

The Assam-Meghalaya border has been the subject of a decades-old territorial dispute between the two states. The dispute centres around six of the 12 sectors along their 885-km common boundary. The issue has been a major cause of friction between the two states.

The signing of the agreement in Guwahati was the result of years of efforts by the two chief ministers, to end the decades-old territorial dispute. The agreement was signed on the first day of the 4th Assam-Meghalaya legislature session. It provides for a “closure” in six sectors — the Sipahijala sector in Nagaland, the Pangsau segment in Manipur and the areas around the Siang and Tuipang dams in Arunachal Pradesh. The agreement will be applicable only to these six sectors and will not have any impact on the other 118-odd sectors along the 885 km long border.

The agreement was inked in the presence of Union Home Minister Amit Shah in New Delhi. The six disputed sectors are Tarabari, Gizang, Hahim, Boklapara, Khanapara-Pillangkata and Ratacherra under the Kamrup, Kamrup (Metro) and Cachar districts of Assam and the West Khasi Hills, Ri-Bhoi and East Jaintia Hills districts of Meghalaya. Under the agreement, Assam will get 18.51 sq. km of the disputed areas, while Meghalaya will get the remaining 18.28 sq. km.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top